March 6, 2017
First of all, get insured. Right now. Stop reading this article, and get insurance.
Got insurance? Okay. Now we’ll talk about what would happen if you got into a car accident during that brief time you were uninsured.
What Indiana Law Requires
The reason we want you to be insured isn’t for our sake. It’s yours.
Indiana law doesn’t require car owners to carry liability car insurance, but it does insist that car owners demonstrate “financial responsibility” in case of a car accident.
The minimum coverage amounts in Indiana are:
- $25,000 per person for death or injury (up to $50,000 per accident)
- $10,000 per accident for property damage
- $50,000 for uninsured/under-insured motorist coverage
If you’re caught operating a vehicle without proper insurance or financial coverage, Indiana law requires the BMV to suspend your license and possibly impose reinstatement fees.
Call the Police
There’s a misconception that if you’re uninsured, you shouldn’t call the police in the event of an accident.
Always call the police after a car accident. No matter what.
The police will file a police report detailing the car accident. Even if you’re uninsured, that police report could protect your rights.
You May Be Covered by the Other Driver’s Insurance
If you didn’t cause the accident—if you weren’t at fault—the other driver’s insurance policy may cover your damages. Remember that $50,000 for uninsured/under-insured motorist coverage?
But fault can be tricky to ascertain. The other driver may insist that the accident was your fault. That’s one reason why calling the police is important, since a police report can help confirm your side of the story. And that’s another reason why hiring an attorney may be the only way to get the compensation you deserve.
Help from an Indiana Car Accident Attorney
If you were uninsured, there still may be some coverage for you. Call Hensley Legal Group for a free, no-obligation consultation, and let us see if we can help, or contact us online.