March 9, 2018
Many people are unsure whether or not they should call the police after a minor car accident, especially if the other driver admitted fault and apologized. Maybe you feel bad for the driver, or maybe you’re in such a hurry that you don’t want to make a big fuss over a few scrapes.
However, when in doubt, it’s always best to call the police after an Indiana car accident. That way, an officer can document what he or she finds at the car accident scene in a police report. A police report can help bolster your side of the story in case the other driver tries to change his or her story to avoid paying for any injuries or property damage you may have.
Here are some instances in which you should always call the police after an Indiana car accident.
If Anyone Is Injured
You’re required by law to call the police if you’re in a car accident and someone is hurt. It doesn’t have to be a major injury, either. Even if someone just has a few scrapes and bruises, you have to call the police.
The reason for this is because it’s hard for everyday individuals to judge whether or not an injury is serious. Your friend in the passenger seat may look okay, but they may have internal injuries that only a trained professional would know how to spot.
Don’t forget the other vehicle in the accident, either. The driver or passengers in the other vehicle may be too injured to call the police on their own. Even if you can’t safely leave your vehicle to see if anyone in the other vehicle was injured, still call the police.
If There’s More than $1,000 in Property Damage
You’re legally required to call the police if there is more than $1,000 in property damage.
Similar to injuries, it’s hard for everyday individuals to judge the monetary value of any property damage. That’s why it’s best to call the police if there’s any damage, just to be on the safe side.
If you don’t call the police, you may limit your options for recovery to only your insurance company. However, if the police report places the other driver at fault, you may be able to recover through the at-fault driver’s insurance company. That could keep your premiums from going up and save you money in the long run.
If the Other Driver Doesn’t Have Insurance
Sometimes, if the other driver doesn’t have insurance, they’ll let you know and ask to “work it out” between the two of you, without getting the police or insurance involved. You may feel bad for the individual, but don’t give up your rights in order to protect someone who’s broken the law and injured you or damaged your property in the process. It’s illegal to drive without car insurance in Indiana, and the uninsured driver will likely face a fine and/or suspension of their license. That’s simply the consequence for driving without insurance.
You won’t be able to recover from the at-fault driver’s insurance if they don’t have any, but it’s still worth it to call the police and get a report that proves that the other driver doesn’t have insurance and was at fault for the accident. This may keep your own premiums from going up, since many insurance companies offer accident forgiveness for accidents that weren’t your fault.
Help from an Indiana Car Accident Lawyer
You may feel like you’re making a big deal out of nothing by calling the police after a minor car accident, but it’s better to be safe than sorry. If you’re struggling to get the compensation you deserve after a car accident, call Hensley Legal Group today or contact us online for a free conversation about your claim.