Fair Labor Standards Act
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and overtime laws require that most employees be paid time and one-half their hourly rate for any hour over 40 worked in a work week. If you have a claim for wages or overtime, give us a call today for your free, brief consultation.
- Have you worked more than 40 hours a week in the last 3 years?
- Have you been paid overtime?
- Are you paid salary or hourly?
- What are your job duties?
Do Any of These Scenarios Sound Like You?
Georgia’s hourly rate at her last job was $8.00. She routinely worked more than 40 hours a week, but her rate never exceeded $8.00/hour. For every hour Georgia worked in excess 40 in any given week, Georgia should have received time and a half.
2. Minimum Wage
Bev’s last employer paid her cash “under the table”. Bev worked 40 hours a week and her employer would pay her $250 per week in cash, so the amount she was paid was less than minimum wage. Also, by paying her under the table, Bev’s employer did not pay the payroll taxes, worker’s compensation insurance, or unemployment insurance.
3. Last Paycheck
Tony was terminated from this job and never received his final paychecks. His former employer failed to pay him for the last two weeks he worked for the employer.
Marco was paid $1.50 for each widget he assembled and was guaranteed to make at least $7.25 per hour, the state minimum wage. Tony worked more than 40 hours per week but his employer did not pay him more than the $1.50/widget rate for any of the overtime hours (those hours in excess of 40) he worked.
If you believe your employer has violated the law, contact us immediately for a free consultation. Call (317) 472-3333.